Category Archives: Book Review

Book Review: Deceived

Deceived_Book.jpg

Title: Deceived

Author: Heena Rathore P.

Pages: 350 pages

Plot:How well do you know your loved ones?

A girl struggling to cope with the murders of her mother and five-year-old brother.
A journalist chasing the ghost of a potential serial killer.
A thirteen-year-old girl who slaughtered her parents.
And a revenge-driven psychopath who is about to destroy everyone’s life.

After 9 years, a young writer is still coping with the brutal murders of her mother and five-year-old brother, as she moves into a house of horrors, to start a new life with her lover. Will friends and family be able to redeem Ally out of the impending doom in time? Will her infallible love become the key to the destruction of her already fragile world? Will madness prevail over love; true love over revenge?

Deceived is a gripping psychological thriller that mazes through the deepest, darkest emotions of…

View original post 349 more words

Leave a comment

Filed under Book Review

Sleeping Giants by Sylvain Neuvel

jlgryphon

“Generally speaking, people tend not to question what they’ve been told was true. Scientists are no different; they’ve just been told a lot more things.”

― Sylvain Neuvel, Sleeping Giants

Source: Bolinda Audio Book

My Rating: 4 stars

Genre: Science Fiction

This book is really interesting.

It begins with an interview with a scientist, Rose Franklin, who relates her childhood memory of stumbling into a pit containing a giant robot hand engraved with an alien script.

As if through an act of fate, the adult Rose who is now a physicist, is assigned to study the hand. She figures out that it is in fact a part of a gigantic female robot that could only have been put on earth by extraterrestrials. She, with the help of a shady ‘Agent Smith’-like interviewer (who remains nameless throughout the book), assembles a team to hunt down the rest of the robot and…

View original post 525 more words

Leave a comment

Filed under Book Review

#ThatDarkestPlace Has Arrived!

The Write Stuff

It’s here at last! That Darkest Place: Riverbend Book 3 is now available on Kindle, and will soon be out in print. And I’m so excited, I’m running a One Week Only sale on it, and ALL of my other books, as well. Yep, my characters are celebrating from Riverbend, Florida, all the way to Wake-Robin Ridge, North Carolina! The Painter Brothers, Maggie & Gunn, Sarah & Mac, and even Little Rabbit are putting out the word that this is the best deal you’ll get all year, and a chance to begin each series from the beginning, if you haven’t already done so. 

Starting today, and continuing through Sunday, 5/21, you can download my books at the following prices:

That Darkest Place: Riverbend Book 3 – $2.99
Finding Hunter: Riverbend Book 2$.99
Swamp Ghosts: Riverbend Book 1 $.99

Harbinger: Riverbend Book 3– $.99
A Boy Named Rabbit:…

View original post 374 more words

1 Comment

Filed under Book Review

Watch You Burn by K.A. Richardson @karichardson77 @Bloodhoundbook @sarahhardy681 #blogtour #bloghounds

Novel Deelights

Happy Wednesday! Today it’s my turn to host the blog tour for Watch You Burn by K.A. Richardson which I’ll be reviewing as soon as I’ve told you a little bit about the book!

34914302

4*

aboutthebook

Someone is breaking into Fire Investigator, Edina Blaze’s, home and leaving deadly messages.

When Glen Peacock is burned alive, she has to put her own problems aside and attend the location with Crime Scene Manager, Kevin Lang. As the body count rises, Edina’s sister Heather becomes involved. Is it her setting these gruesome fires? Or is she a target too?

Kevin has seen it all in his years on the force, but when a young girl is found burnt to death, even he is shocked. Who is taking pleasure in watching people burn? Why are they doing it? And will they be caught? DI Alistair McKay and the team from North East Police have to…

View original post 584 more words

1 Comment

Filed under Book Review

Review: The Cutaway by @christina_kovac @AtriaMysteryBus

Novelgossip


Goodreads|Amazon|Author Website
Release date: March 21, 2017

Publisher: Atria Books

Genre: Mystery/Thriller

Blurb:

The Cutaway draws you into the tangled world of corruption and cover-up as a young television producer investigates the disappearance of a beautiful Georgetown lawyer in this stunning psychological thriller, perfect for fans of Paula Hawkins and Gillian Flynn.


When brilliant TV news producer Virginia Knightly receives a disturbing “MISSING” notice on her desk related to the disappearance of a beautiful young attorney, she can’t seem to shake the image from her head. Despite skepticism from her colleagues, Knightly suspects this ambitious young lawyer may be at the heart of something far more sinister, especially since she was last seen leaving an upscale restaurant after a domestic dispute. Yet, as the only woman of power at her station, Knightly quickly finds herself investigating on her own.


Risking her career, her life, and perhaps…

View original post 375 more words

1 Comment

Filed under Book Review

A Monster Calls, Patrick Ness

ramblingthroughlife

This is a beautiful little novel, with a thought provoking and heart warming storyline.

When I first went to read this book, I was expecting a sweet story about a friendly monster who arrives to help out a young boy. However, it was not what I got – and part of me is glad.

It was refreshing to no longer have a monster or guardian who looks out for the child and protects them from the world, such as the BFG for example, or Budo the imaginary friend.

I loved that the monster came walking to Connor, yet he did not come all of the time he was needed, and his stories were never exactly what Connor wanted/needed to hear. It meant that Connor learned to deal with difficulties in his own way, and that it was not just him being told the way. The stories that the monster told…

View original post 208 more words

Leave a comment

Filed under Book Review

Release Day Blitz for “Forever” by Monica Murphy

unnamed (6)

Forever by Monica Murphy

Release Date: April 4th, 2017

Series: Friends

Genre: Young Adult


unnamed (48)Synopsis:

Forever, an all new Friends story from Monica Murphy, is now live!!

She’s all I could ever want…

I have a reputation around school. Cold. Untouchable. Unfeeling. Only one girl could ever make me want to change and that’s Amanda Winters. Too bad I broke her heart and drove her away.

So to get through the rest of my days in high school, I tell myself I need to focus on more important things. Like taking our football team to championships. Get accepted to the college of my choice. And finish my senior year without wanting to run away from my problems.

But your problems chase after you no matter where you go. And it’s a lot harder when you fight them alone. The longer I go without Amanda, the more I miss her. Her…

View original post 225 more words

2 Comments

Filed under Book Review

Clearing the Shelves – ‘The Harvest Man’ by Alex Grecian

Emma's Bookish Corner

1488037187921

Every month I try to read a book that’s been sat on my shelf for six months or more with the idea that it will help clear my shelves. This is a theme that I’d like to invite anyone to join, feel free to use the graphic, all I ask is that you tag me and link my blog 🙂 This month I went for ‘The Harvest Man’ by Alex Grecian.

9781405915083

Alongside Jack the Ripper there is another brutal serial killer roaming the streets of Victorian London. Spring 1890. The spectre of Jack the Ripper still haunts Inspector Walter Day, his injured leg a daily reminder of his violent brush with London’s most feared killer. He alone is convinced that the Ripper remains at large. But, worse is to come for Scotland Yard’s Murder Squad. A new killer is terrorizing the citizens of London. They call him the Harvest Man…

View original post 270 more words

5 Comments

Filed under Book Review

Author Interview: Cat Sparks

MyLifeMyBooksMyEscape

Today I am interviewing Cat Sparks, author of the new science-fiction novel, Lotus Blue.

◊  ◊  ◊

DJ: Hey Cat! Thanks for agreeing to do this interview!

For readers who aren’t familiar with you, could you tell us a little about yourself?

Cat Sparks: Sure thing, DJ, I’ve been a rabid science fiction fan since I was a kid, growing up on a steady diet of Doctor Who, Thunderbirds, Star Wars and everything else in between – and I do mean everything… I wrote so much sci fi when I was a teen that an English teacher actually banned me from writing it in her class. You can see for yourself how well that plan turned out…

I have a BA in Visual Arts and have had some interesting (and not so interesting) jobs across the years: media monitor, political and archaeological photographer, graphic designer, Fiction Editor of Australia’s…

View original post 1,757 more words

Leave a comment

Filed under Book Review

Review: The Lost Woman by Sara Blaedel @sarablaedel @GrandCentralPub

Novelgossip


Goodreads|Amazon|Author Website
Release date: February 7, 2017

Publisher: Grand Central

Genre: Mystery/Thriller

Blurb:

A housewife is the target of a shocking, methodical killing.


Shot with a hunting rifle through her kitchen window, the woman is dead before she hits the ground. Though murdered in England, it turns out that the woman, Sofie Parker, is a Danish citizen–one who’s been missing for almost two decades–so Louise Rick is called on to the case.


Then the police discover that the woman, Sophie, had been reported missing eighteen years ago by none other than Eik, Louise Rick’s police colleague and lover. Impulsive as ever, Eik rushes to England, and ends up in jail on suspicion of Sofie’s murder. Unsettled by the connection, and sick with worry for Eik, it falls to Louise to find the killer in what will become her most controversial case yet…

Review:

I have to…

View original post 346 more words

Leave a comment

Filed under Book Review