Review: The Cutaway by @christina_kovac @AtriaMysteryBus

Novelgossip


Goodreads|Amazon|Author Website
Release date: March 21, 2017

Publisher: Atria Books

Genre: Mystery/Thriller

Blurb:

The Cutaway draws you into the tangled world of corruption and cover-up as a young television producer investigates the disappearance of a beautiful Georgetown lawyer in this stunning psychological thriller, perfect for fans of Paula Hawkins and Gillian Flynn.


When brilliant TV news producer Virginia Knightly receives a disturbing “MISSING” notice on her desk related to the disappearance of a beautiful young attorney, she can’t seem to shake the image from her head. Despite skepticism from her colleagues, Knightly suspects this ambitious young lawyer may be at the heart of something far more sinister, especially since she was last seen leaving an upscale restaurant after a domestic dispute. Yet, as the only woman of power at her station, Knightly quickly finds herself investigating on her own.


Risking her career, her life, and perhaps…

View original post 375 more words

1 Comment

Filed under Book Review

A Monster Calls, Patrick Ness

ramblingthroughlife

This is a beautiful little novel, with a thought provoking and heart warming storyline.

When I first went to read this book, I was expecting a sweet story about a friendly monster who arrives to help out a young boy. However, it was not what I got – and part of me is glad.

It was refreshing to no longer have a monster or guardian who looks out for the child and protects them from the world, such as the BFG for example, or Budo the imaginary friend.

I loved that the monster came walking to Connor, yet he did not come all of the time he was needed, and his stories were never exactly what Connor wanted/needed to hear. It meant that Connor learned to deal with difficulties in his own way, and that it was not just him being told the way. The stories that the monster told…

View original post 208 more words

Leave a comment

Filed under Book Review

Release Day Blitz for “Forever” by Monica Murphy

unnamed (6)

Forever by Monica Murphy

Release Date: April 4th, 2017

Series: Friends

Genre: Young Adult


unnamed (48)Synopsis:

Forever, an all new Friends story from Monica Murphy, is now live!!

She’s all I could ever want…

I have a reputation around school. Cold. Untouchable. Unfeeling. Only one girl could ever make me want to change and that’s Amanda Winters. Too bad I broke her heart and drove her away.

So to get through the rest of my days in high school, I tell myself I need to focus on more important things. Like taking our football team to championships. Get accepted to the college of my choice. And finish my senior year without wanting to run away from my problems.

But your problems chase after you no matter where you go. And it’s a lot harder when you fight them alone. The longer I go without Amanda, the more I miss her. Her…

View original post 225 more words

2 Comments

Filed under Book Review

Clearing the Shelves – ‘The Harvest Man’ by Alex Grecian

Emma's Bookish Corner

1488037187921

Every month I try to read a book that’s been sat on my shelf for six months or more with the idea that it will help clear my shelves. This is a theme that I’d like to invite anyone to join, feel free to use the graphic, all I ask is that you tag me and link my blog 🙂 This month I went for ‘The Harvest Man’ by Alex Grecian.

9781405915083

Alongside Jack the Ripper there is another brutal serial killer roaming the streets of Victorian London. Spring 1890. The spectre of Jack the Ripper still haunts Inspector Walter Day, his injured leg a daily reminder of his violent brush with London’s most feared killer. He alone is convinced that the Ripper remains at large. But, worse is to come for Scotland Yard’s Murder Squad. A new killer is terrorizing the citizens of London. They call him the Harvest Man…

View original post 270 more words

5 Comments

Filed under Book Review

Author Interview: Cat Sparks

MyLifeMyBooksMyEscape

Today I am interviewing Cat Sparks, author of the new science-fiction novel, Lotus Blue.

◊  ◊  ◊

DJ: Hey Cat! Thanks for agreeing to do this interview!

For readers who aren’t familiar with you, could you tell us a little about yourself?

Cat Sparks: Sure thing, DJ, I’ve been a rabid science fiction fan since I was a kid, growing up on a steady diet of Doctor Who, Thunderbirds, Star Wars and everything else in between – and I do mean everything… I wrote so much sci fi when I was a teen that an English teacher actually banned me from writing it in her class. You can see for yourself how well that plan turned out…

I have a BA in Visual Arts and have had some interesting (and not so interesting) jobs across the years: media monitor, political and archaeological photographer, graphic designer, Fiction Editor of Australia’s…

View original post 1,757 more words

Leave a comment

Filed under Book Review

Review: The Lost Woman by Sara Blaedel @sarablaedel @GrandCentralPub

Novelgossip


Goodreads|Amazon|Author Website
Release date: February 7, 2017

Publisher: Grand Central

Genre: Mystery/Thriller

Blurb:

A housewife is the target of a shocking, methodical killing.


Shot with a hunting rifle through her kitchen window, the woman is dead before she hits the ground. Though murdered in England, it turns out that the woman, Sofie Parker, is a Danish citizen–one who’s been missing for almost two decades–so Louise Rick is called on to the case.


Then the police discover that the woman, Sophie, had been reported missing eighteen years ago by none other than Eik, Louise Rick’s police colleague and lover. Impulsive as ever, Eik rushes to England, and ends up in jail on suspicion of Sofie’s murder. Unsettled by the connection, and sick with worry for Eik, it falls to Louise to find the killer in what will become her most controversial case yet…

Review:

I have to…

View original post 346 more words

Leave a comment

Filed under Book Review

Book Review: The Good Father by Noah Hawley

Hope's Bookmark


OK, Noah Hawley is very quickly rising to the top of my favourite authors list, and I have only read 2 of his books.  The first book I read by him was Before the Fall, and it was the best book I had read in awhile.  With that, I figured giving another book of his a chance was only fair, and man-oh-man, I was not disappointed.

Hawley knows how to tell a story, he creates characters and situations that suck you in, you just want to know what happens, or what happened.  I’m not someone who has ever read that last page of a book to see how it ends, but his stories tempt me to.  Not in a bad way, because I want his books to last, but just in the sense that you wonder how much discovery are you going to have to go through before you…

View original post 267 more words

Leave a comment

Filed under Book Review

Old Friends and New Enemies by Owen Mullins #BlogTour @Bloodhoundbook

mychestnutreadingtree

fb_img_1487528899588

Old Friends and New Enemies by Owen Mullen

About this book…

The body on the mortuary slab wasn’t who Glasgow PI Charlie Cameron was looking for. But it wasn’t a stranger. Ian Selkirk must have crossed some dangerous people. Because now he was dead. Stabbed through the heart and dumped in the loch. Suddenly, a routine missing persons investigation becomes a fight for survival as Charlie goes up against notorious gangster, Jimmy Rafferty, who has ruled the east end of the city with fear for over thirty years. Rafferty is ruthless. Even his own family are terrified of him. But Jimmy’s best days are behind him and in the Rafferty clan a power struggle is taking place between the sons. Finding what the thief stole is the old man’s last chance to protect what he has built and hold on to power just a little longer. He wants to use Charlie…

View original post 459 more words

Leave a comment

Filed under Book Review

Review: Shadow and Bone by Leigh Bardugo

Pages Of Addiction

IMG_0146.JPG

Pages: 308

Genre: Fantasy, Young Adult

Release Date: June 5th 2012

Published By: Henry Holt and Company

Source from Goodreads

Surrounded by enemies, the once-great nation of Ravka has been torn in two by the Shadow Fold, a swath of near impenetrable darkness crawling with monsters who feast on human flesh. Now its fate may rest on the shoulders of one lonely refugee.

Alina Starkov has never been good at anything. But when her regiment is attacked on the Fold and her best friend is brutally injured, Alina reveals a dormant power that saves his life—a power that could be the key to setting her war-ravaged country free. Wrenched from everything she knows, Alina is whisked away to the royal court to be trained as a member of the Grisha, the magical elite led by the mysterious Darkling.

Yet nothing in this lavish world is what it seems. With darkness…

View original post 540 more words

Leave a comment

Filed under Book Review

*BLOG TOUR* The Watcher – Netta Newbound. ✶✶✶✶✶

Between The Pages Book Club

Blurb:
Life couldn’t get much better for Hannah. She accepts her dream job in Manchester, and easily makes friends with her new neighbours. When she becomes romantically involved with her boss, she can’t believe her luck. But things are about to take a grisly turn.

As her colleagues and neighbours are killed off one by one, Hannah’s idyllic life starts to fall apart. But when her mother becomes the next victim, the connection to Hannah is all too real.
Who is watching her every move?
Will the police discover the real killer in time?
Hannah is about to learn that appearances can be deceptive.

My Review:
OMG! What a dark, edge of your seat thriller. I held my breathe throughout multiple parts of this book, I had forgotten to breathe. This is the first book I have read by Netta and it will not be my last either. WOW. The…

View original post 139 more words

Leave a comment

Filed under Book Review